About Us

On December 16, 2018, the Government of Jammu and Kashmir passed ‘The University of Ladakh Act, 2018 (Governor Act No. LVI of 2018)’ to establish a Cluster University in Ladakh The University of Ladakh is being set up under a law enacted by the State of Jammu & Kashmir in December, 2018 as ‘The University of Ladakh Act, 2018 (Governor Act No. LVI of 2018)'.It is the only trans-Himalayan institute of higher learning and research and, therefore, an institute of higher learning of its own kind. Established with the existing six degree colleges in the region, three each in Leh and Kargil districts, as its Constituent Colleges, it will also have courses and research programmes specific to Himalayan, trans-Himalayan and South and Central Asian regions not ordinarily available in other universities in the country. The University has headquarters and campuses in both Leh and Kargil to cater to students passing out of various schools and colleges spread over more than fifty thousand square kilometres of the vast Ladakh region.Although the foundation stone for ‘The University of Ladakh (UOL)’ was laid by the Prime Minister in February, 2019, the work on establishing the University got going only in mid-June, 2019 with creation of the three key positions for the University -- Vice-Chancellor, Registrar and Controller of Examinations - and appointing incumbents against these by the Government of Jammu & Kashmir. The first task taken up by the trio was the selection of sites for the University campuses in Leh and Kargil and engaging erstwhile Jammu & Kashmir State’s Town Planning Organization to prepare architectural designs and drawings for the headquarters buildings. For the period until the selected office buildings were renovated and made operational, the University hired, through the district administration, buildings in Kargil and Leh towns from the Tourism Department for use as temporary offices. Having established the temporary offices, the first priority task taken in hand was compilation of a rough draft of the UOL Statutes and Regulations, modelled on the Statutes and Regulations of the Central and Cluster Universities set up recently in the State of Jammu & Kashmir. In pursuance of the Jammu & Kashmir Reorganization Act passed by the Parliament in August, 2019, the two Kashmir University campuses in Ladakh – one in Khumbuthang in Kargil and the other in Taruthang in Leh – have been transferred to the University of Ladakh, as part of thepolicy on asset division between the Union Territories of J&K and Ladakh, along with physical infrastructure, laboratory and library facilities and staff of various kinds. So far, the University has held one meeting each of two of the important decision making bodies, viz. the Syndicate and the Academic Council, in which important decisions regarding the effective functioning of the University were taken.



Contact Number: 01982-258860

Contact Email: ladakh-university@jk.gov.in

Contact Email: info@universityofladakh.org.in

Contact Address: LEH
Silk Route Rest House, Tourist Reception Center

Contact Address: KARGIL
Purig Guest House, Upper Kurbathang Plateau